TDS Transportation cruises to league playoff championship

by Legacy Hockey

TDS Transportation won the Elite League playoff championship on Sunday with a 5-1 victory over MSP Magazine. Photo by Drew Herron,

Javon Moore (Minnetonka) scored a shorthanded goal and added two assists, and goaltender Cody Niesen (St. Thomas Academy) made 36 saves to lead TDS Transportation past MSP Magazine 5-1 on Sunday in the championship game of the Elite League playoffs at New Hope Ice Arena. 

Moore’s goal early in the second period gave No. 2 seed TDS Transportation (14-6-3) a 3-0 lead. No. 5 seed MSP Magazine (9-10-4) pulled to within 3-1 on a goal by Brooks Cogswell (Andover), his goal coming just 15 seconds after Moore’s. 

But the rest of the final period belonged to TDS Transportation, with Cameron Kirschner (Benilde-St. Margaret’s) and Holden Pajor (Holy Family) adding goals. 

Niesen stopped 17 shots in the final period. He finished the season with a 7-3-1 record, including two playoff victories.

TDS Transportation received the newly minted Founder’s Cup after the victory. It was created in honor of league founder John Russo, who passed away in April, and will be awarded annually to the league’s playoff champion. 

TDS Transportation went 8-2-1, including its three playoff victories, to close the season. Included among the wins was a 4-2 triumph over Shattuck-St. Mary’s on Oct. 2. TDS won its three playoff games by a combined score of 15-3.