by Nick Wosika

Photos by Nick Wosika

Jack Smith (St. Cloud Cathedral) scored early in the 2nd period to give Sanford Power a 1-0 lead.

 Max Strand (Roseau) gave Sanford Power a 2-nothing lead midway through the 2nd period.

Still in the 2nd period, Team Wisconsin's Nick Johnson cuts the Sanford Power lead to 1. 

Cole Carlson (Fond du Lac) would score for Team Wisconsin and we'd head to the locker room knotted at 2 after 2.

Remi Keopple (Hill-Murray) was huge for Team Wisconsin all tournament long. 

Not to be outdone Hudson Hodges (Moorhead) was equal to the task and after no scoring in the 3rd, we'd head to overtime.

With 32.5 seconds left in the 10-minute overtime frame, Ben Troumbly would find the back of the net on this shot from the slot, celly, and incite a riot. 

The Celly

The Riot

The Sportsmanship

Sanford Power: 2019 Upper Midwest High School Elite League Champions